

County Hall Cardiff, CF10 4UW Tel: (029) 2087 2087

Neuadd y Sir Caerdydd, CF10 4UW Ffôn: (029) 2087 2088

Date: 14 September 2017

Councillor Russell Goodway Cabinet Member, Investment and Development Cardiff Council, County Hall Cardiff CF10 4UW

Dear Councillor Goodway,

## Joint Economy & Culture and Environmental Scrutiny Committee: Consideration of Called – In Decision CAB/17/11: 13 September 2017

On behalf of both the Economy & Culture and Environmental Scrutiny Committees, please accept our thanks for attending our special meeting to consider the Called-In decision CAB/17/11 titled 'Funding the New Bus Transport Interchange'. Members wish also to pass on their thanks to Neil Hanratty and Geoff Shimell for their attendance.

Having considered the evidence presented by Councillor McEvoy, Dr Max Wallis and yourselves, Members decided not to refer back to Cabinet the decision CAB/17/11. Therefore, this decision stands.

However, Members have asked that I pass on the following comments and observations from their discussion at the Way Forward.

Members welcome the fact that concerted efforts are being made to secure office usage in the interchange building and hope that these prove fruitful. However, Members are supportive of a market driven approach for this space as well, subject to further planning application, if required.

Members asked that I re-emphasise the points made in our previous letter to you, dated 19 July 2017, regarding: ensuring due diligence checks are applied to ensure robust financial modelling and consideration of legal advice; and being kept informed of progress with the bid to Welsh Government for assistance in meeting technical fit out and highway improvements.

Members share the wish to see a high quality bus transport interchange in place as soon as possible and look forward to progress being made with this.

Yours sincerely,

COUNCILLOR NIGEL HOWELLS CHAIR, JOINT ECONOMY & CULTURE AND ENVIRONMENTAL SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

cc Members of the Economy & Culture and Environmental Scrutiny Committees Cllr Neil McEvoy Neil Hanratty Geoff Shimell Dr. Max Wallis Clair James Cabinet Support Office